Hot and Sour Soup

Now that the weather is getting cooler and it’s officially fall, I have been craving soup almost every night.  My goal for the past month has been to cook more Chinese and Taiwanese food since my husband and I are both Taiwanese.  Even though my husband is very sweet and says that he likes everything I cook, I know that deep down, he really loves the Chinese and Taiwanese food that his mom cooks.  Hot and sour soup has been one of my favorites since I was a kid and it was perfect for my soup craving.

Ingredients

8 dried shiitake mushrooms
16 oz firm tofu
1/2 cup dried wood ear
1/2 cup bamboo shoots (fresh or canned)
6 cups chicken broth
3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 eggs
4 tablespoons dark vinegar
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1-2 teaspoon white pepper
1 tablespoon cornstarch, dissolved in 2 tablespoons water

Directions

Soak the dried shiitake mushrooms and wood ear in water for 20 minutes.  Squeeze out excess water.  Rinse bamboo shoots with water.  Thinly slice shiitake mushrooms, wood ear, bamboo shots and tofu.

Heat 6 cups of chicken broth in a large stockpot and bring to a boil.  Then, toss in shiitake mushrooms and bamboo.  Let it simmer for about 10 minutes.

Add soy sauce and tofu and let it simmer for another 5 minutes.

Add vinegar, sesame oil and white pepper.  Beat 2 eggs and then drizzle egg into the soup while stirring.  Stir in cornstarch mixture to thicken.  Simmer for 5-10 minutes.  Add salt or more white pepper to taste and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

